New 5k PR!

Hi,

Well, I had a very productive and fun weekend. It’s a shame weekends are only 2 days long.

One of the many things that we did this weekend was run in a Veteran’s Day 5k. I was a little nervous because this was my first race since the marathon. Also, since the marathon I had only gone running a handful of times, so although I wanted to run really fast, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to. I was thinking that all my months of training would be lost after a couple weeks of not being as active as I once was . Boy, was I wrong! I’m so proud of myself, I beat my previous 5k PR by 2 mins and 9 secs! I got a 24:41 which is a 7:57 min pace per mile. I was a second off from getting 3rd place in my age group. It was a great race and super exciting to see how much my training this year has paid off. I did sort of get the marathon blues that people often talk about, wasn’t sure what I was going to do next, but this race helped snap me back into running mode.

I’m definitely enjoying this moment because one doesn’t shave their PR like that very often in one’s running career. It was a great feeling to see that time on the clock. Now I’m looking forward to the Turkey Trot race coming up a couple weeks (a couple weeks, where is time going????).

Leave a Reply

